When All is Said and Done

Listening to the radio, on the way home from visiting my mom in rehab, I heard the following

Will I be able to live with myself?

Throughout my caregiver journey I have vented, been angry, experienced resentment, read books to help me along the way and received lots of advice.

But when all is said and done, I have made the choice to provide care. Not out of guilt, nor to pay it forward or out of obligation. I choose to give care because when I look in the mirror I know I am doing what my heart believes is right.

Most importantly, I can live with myself with no guilt or regret. And that would be worse than choosing to put my needs and wants in the forefront, all the time, when I know my mom needs a helping hand, a shoulder to lean on and someone to care and love her the rest of her days.

Yes, the choice I have made is not the easy one. However when all is said and done I will have gained more than a vacation or being busy. I will have gained peace of mind and memories to fill my days when death befriends my mom.

Blessings,

Annie

