One Word

I have racked my brain since the 1st of the year, thinking of one word for 2017. I thought of surrender, home, light, love. But I think the one word that sums all of those words up in a nice neat bundle is grace.

Wikipedia defines grace as the love and mercy given to us by God because God desires us to have it, not because of anything we have done to deserve it.

The Oxford Dictionary defines grace in several ways including a divinely given talent or blessing; a short prayer of thanks.

Webster’s defines grace as the exercise of love, mercy, kindness, favor; disposition to benefit or serve another.

And lastly, the Cambridge Dictionary defines grace as approval or protection given by God.

Grace…one simple word that when uttered will keep me grounded, provide peace when chaos erupts and remind me to keep God front and center and family/friends not far behind.

What’s your word for this year? Let me know in the comments section.

Blessings,
Annie

 

2 thoughts on “One Word

  1. grace was one of my words i was choosing from for this year! i feel it’s no coincidence i stumbled across your blog 🙂 my word for this year is ‘sow’. because nothing ever grew that wasn’t first sown and to sow requires patience and faith that what i have planted will bloom. sowing grace into my friendships and myself is one of the main ways i plan to sow.

    happy new year! thank you for sharing

    xoxoxo
    elaine

Leave a Reply

