Monday Mental Health

Yesterday, I got up, felt lousy, and went back to bed. The phone rang at 1. It was my oldest son wanting to come get his mail and his clothes. I had volunteered to take him to dinner but just wasn’t feeling up to par. My head was stuffed, my nose was running and I was sneezing so bad I was scaring my kitties. We settled on getting in touch next weekend and finding a time then. It is like the time we were apart never happened. Although there is still a underlying feeling of what has been left unspoken and issues not resolved.

Still felt worse last night so I hunkered down on the coach and watched t.v., which put me to sleep. I groggily awoke, shuffling myself to my bed. At 4:00 a.m., woke up again, still feeling like crap. Decided to stay home. Well, actually talked myself into staying home. Contacted my boss, then hit the sack again, finally waking up at 1 p.m.

I know my symptoms are something I could have worked through today if I really put my mind to it.  I also know they are from the emotional and mental beating I took last week. Part of it my doing, part of it not.

Regardless, I believe there is nothing wrong with taking a ‘mental sick day.’ The stress of living is sometimes more than enough to handle, let alone the stresses encountered at work and with family members. As a result, one can rest and get away for a bit in order to recharge. I know I was dreading going into work today due to the weekly ‘team’ meeting. I just knew if I went in, my attitude, from the start, would have stunk! If the meeting is rescheduled for tomorrow, I know I will be better able to handle it.

Interestingly enough, I am slightly stuffy, but my ‘cold’ or whatever it was has vanished. It is nice to just sit in peace and quiet which is helping to detox from any stress I put upon myself. I believe all of us, could use a mental health day now and again. It is a good way to revive not only the mind and body but also the spirit.

Blessings,
Annie

One thought on “Monday Mental Health

Leave a Reply

