Stormy Weather

Life is like the storms that blew in Friday as well as the perfect weather on Sunday. Day by day, minute by minute things can and will change. Life promises that. Yet, despite it all, Friday evening, I drove to get my son and bring him home, from college, at his request, for the weekend. His college is in Indiana. As I drove, the weather rapidly changed from sun in the fun to drenching torrential rain. Then, the rain abruptly stopped, turning into flashes of lightening careening across the sky. Since I abhor traffic, I take the ‘rural’ highways which meander through acres and acres and acres and acres of farm land as far west, as far east, as far north and south as the eye can see. Thus, the lightening was more like strobe lights. Sometimes the flashes were so bright, the whole night was lit up. I found it quite amazing and was not frightened at all, till…

As I came round a bend, out of the corner of my left eye I noticed a HUGE bright flash, heard a LOUD BOOM, and yelled, ‘OH SH*T!!!’ That’s right folks! Somewhere, close to my vehicle, lightening struck. For you see, when one is in the middle of farm land, driving a car, one is basically a sitting duck or a moving target. Thankfully, I was momentarily a sitting duck, who hightailed it down the road to reach my destination as soon as I could.

But, I was slowed WAY DOWN by a downpour so bad, the wipers were useless and to stay on the road, I had to focus on the tail lights on the car in front of me. Believe you, my prayers were rapidly shooting up to heaven, not only for safety but also for no encounters with flooding. As with all storms, it did eventually cease, thus we were able to make our way home in one piece.

Sunday, I drove my son back to school. Skies were blue. Sun was a shining. Clouds were wispy in the sky. Hawks were soaring. What a difference! Which got me thinking…

Life is just like the storms that blew in Friday as well as the perfect weather on Sunday. Day by day, minute by minute things can and will change. Life promises that. Yet, despite it all…

When storms roll on in your life, do you keep on, keepin on or do you stop dead in your tracks?
When lightening strikes, do you use the flashes of light to see your way through or do you lay down and surrender?
When fear roars, do you seek help in prayer or do you give up?
When everything is going hunky dory, do you give thanks or do you take it for granted?
When the storms of life barrel in, do you flee or stay on coarse by soaring above them?
What do you choose?

Blessings,
Annie

Leave a Reply

