Check Mate Life

Dear Life,
Why is it just when things are going groovy great, you have to kick my ass and shove my face in the dirt? Why is it just when the light, at the end of the tunnel, is blindingly bright, you have to darken the sky and make it pour? Why is it just when the journey is going my way, you switch the road to derail me and cause a detour I never saw coming and have no option to take?

Answer me Life.

How come you turn my expectations into rejection? How come you twist another’s promises and truths into lies? How come you let me get close to my dreams and then snatch them away, leaving just dust and grime? How can you live with yourself? You dastardly bastard!

ANSWER ME LIFE!!!!!!!!!!

Why do you scheme, stab and torment? Just WHO DO YOU THINK YOU ARE??!?!??!

AAAANNNNNNNNNNNSSSSWWWERRR MMMEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

WHY DON’T YOU SAY SOMETHING LIFE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Is it because you can’t stand to see me get back up every time you trip me?
Is it because you can’t stand the fact I never quit?
Is it because you can’t stand it as I inch over the finish line on my hands and knees?
Or is it because you don’t have the strength to fight the power of faith erupting every time you and I collide?

What is it Life? Are you afraidy cat? Or are you staying silent in order to plan your next scheme?

Come on Life! Put your fists up! Let’s do a boxing dance!

WAIT!!! GET BACK HERE LIFE!! WHY ARE YOU RUNNING AWAY??

I know you won’t stay away for long.
I know my fear of you has burned into an ember, never to be lit again.
I know I will never forget the way you have treated me.
So here is a warning…

Be prepared Life. For I am ready to take you on.

And, no matter how many trials or challenges or roadblocks you set up,
I will NEVER, DO YOU HEAR ME LIFE?
I WILL NEVER SUCCUMB TO YOUR ANTICS!!!!

And because of my unfailing spirit, you can never win.

DID YOU HEAR THAT LIFE?!?!?!
YOU CAN NEVER WIN!!!!!!!!!!!!

I accept you will never give up.
But neither will I.

So, next time you shove me around,
Beat my heart till its almost broken
And leave me barely breathing,
Remember…
Nothing you ever do to kill my soul will work.
Nothing.
For as long as I am breathing,
And as long as I am alive,
I will keep on climbing, conquering and fighting my way
Through your interference.

Game’s on Life.
And if you think you can
Play it better than me,
You’d best think again.
For I am more than prepared
To face whatever you put in my way.
I’m just waiting…
For you to make your next move.

(written for my youngest son as he faces the next few weeks at Fort Benning)

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

