Renovating Back to The Side of Health

Here in the Great Lakes State, it is CCCCOOOOLLLLLDDDDD and getting more so. Yet, tonight I noticed the sun was still lighting up the sky when I got home from work. I already had my coat, gloves and boots on so I dropped my purse inside, grabbed my earbuds and my nano, put on a warm hat and….

Went for a walk around my apartment complex. As I was walking, out of the corner of my eye, I noticed this lady, who was parked in her spot, shaking her head, like I was crazy to be out in this weather. I looked right at her, still bopping away to my music. She was still shaking her head, but her face had burst into a big huge grin!

Ok, I know it’s cold. The high today was about 14 degrees. Tonight it is getting down to -1 and that is Fahrenheit! Currently we have wind chill warnings till tomorrow at 4 p.m. Tomorrow night, 1-3 inches of snow is expected. Yea, so winter is definitely HERE! Even some schools are closed for tomorrow!

Yet, I went for a walk. Why? Well, two and half years ago, I exercised outside in everything, even rain, rarely missing a day. I was a runner. I completed two 5K’s, in one of which I came in third in my age group!!! However, when I separated and got divorced, I not only quit life, I quit taking care of me. I started coming home from work, getting in my pajamas and laying around the house. I began eating junk food. When I shopped, I no longer lingered in the veggie and fruit department, but flew right on through to the bakery. I became fat, AGAIN! Ever since then I have often pondered why I quit.

I know why I quit life. I was temporarily depressed, although not enough to seek help. I also felt sick to my stomach, then angry every time I thought about my ex and his behavior. Then when I thought about mine, well it just made my stomach ache worse. I definitely became mentally ‘sick’ for a while due to being betrayed, lied to and cheated on.

I still have haven’t totally figured out why I quit exercising. It would have relieved a lot of stress during the time my divorce was being worked on. It would have relieved a lot of frustration as a result of my previous job. It would have made my mind free of doubt and worry. It would have been great! But I made a conscious decision to quit. I think part of it was no one was in my home I needed to impress. No one was here who would have cared what I looked like. No one was judging me, even myself. Till the other day when I looked at myself in the mirror, butt naked!

It was such a sight, at first I averted my eyes. Then, I forced myself to really look long and hard at what I had done to my body. My stomach used to be lean, now it is flabby with a pouch of fat coming off the bottom. My legs used to be lean as well, now there are dimples of cellulite. My butt was cute in jeans and tight as a pin cushion. Now, it looks like two puffy pillows on each side surrounded by cushions of fat flapping from side to side. Okay, I won’t give any more detail. As my kids say sometimes, ‘Mom, TMI!’ Let me just say even though I have grown into my sassyfras self, my body has suffered, BIG TIME!!! Sad to admit, but I even choose to forgo the health test at work, which would have saved me money on my insurance, because I knew I wouldn’t have passed.

So, one would imagine I would have started exercising last summer, when the weather was warm, the breezes were balmy and the days had much more daylight. Why didn’t I? I always thought getting a divorce would make me happy and it did. However, I never realized the toll it took on my spirit, my mental outlook and my belief in living a healthy lifestyle. I think the reason I quit exercising was because it was easier to throw in the towel and instead of keeping on moving, I choose to feed my sadness and depression with food. No surprise there, as in my early journey of getting healthy, I discovered I was an emotional eater.

As I lose myself in writing these words, I realize that is exactly why I quit…on life and exercise. I didn’t feel like being strong. I didn’t feel like facing all the emotional upheaval I was experiencing. Most importantly, I didn’t feel like me. I felt like a failure. I wasn’t able to keep my husband sexually interested in me. I wasn’t able to keep my marriage from falling apart. I wasn’t able to keep screaming at my kids for nothing at all. I wasn’t able to stop the madness. I wasn’t able to see the light. I wasn’t able to be brave.

After two years, I am…more alive than ever, more ready than ever, more me than ever and more courageous than ever. That is why I decided on one of the coldest days this winter to renovate my body. For you see, my mind and my spirit have been slowly rebuild one day at a time into a home where the lights never dim or go out. Now it’s time for my body to join the party. And, this time it won’t be one of pity.

Blessings,
Annie

 

 

Leave a Reply

