Gift 11 and 12: Health and Wellness

Every New Year, thousands make the resolution to lose weight, diet and get healthy. Before my divorce I was exercising every day, in a size 2, and eating healthy foods. Now? I have put back on 30 lbs-weighing in at 162, currently wear a size 8, lose my breath when walking fast, frequently eat McDonalds and don’t exercise. The only thing I have kept from my health days is I still don’t drink pop. BIG DEAL!!!

So, since I have 2 weeks off, I have resolved myself, the day after Christmas to begin again on the path to health. I am going to start walking everyday, pack my lunch, eat more fruits and veggies and wean myself from the being a fast food junkaholic. I believe every day should be treated like a New Year, a fresh start to start over.

So, I challenge you. Even if you don’t need to lose weight, but wish to live a healthier lifestyle. Just like a countdown at a race, 1-2-3 get set, GOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!! You have tomorrow, Christmas Eve and Christmas to indulge then on December 26, it will be time to get serious and start your marathon. Granted this marathon is not one of dieting and fad weight loss strategies that ‘promise’ quick fixes. I know from past experience, losing weight is a day by day process. Some days are struggles, definitely in the beginning. And some days are triumphs, especially as a new slimmer body emerges.

To go the first mile on Thursday, all it takes is getting out of bed, putting on some sweats, lacing up your shoes, grabbing a warm jacket, plugging in some great music, heading out the door and walking. Slowly at first, then gradually as the heart, the soul, the spirit, the mind and the body adjust, revving up the speed.

In the weeks to come, I will keep you posted on my progress. I need a resolution partner or two.  As someone once said, every new day is a chance to change yourself. Don’t wait to for a New Year. Begin now and see what a difference it can make. I know I am ready to get back not only the slim gal but the healthy gal I once was. Won’t you join in too?

Blessings,
Annie

Leave a Reply

