April 4, 1928 – May 28, 2014

Dear Marguerite Ann Johnson,

You are one of the people I wished I could have met in person. I first discovered you as a teenager. Your words, your thoughts, your spirit caught me and I was hooked. A few months ago, I saw you on Oprah. I admired you, at 85, for still lecturing, still writing, still telling it like it was. You were a great lady, who suffered much but fought through the turmoil to become the one God meant you to be.

When I heard God calling you home, I said, “OH NO!!!” I did not know you, but was deeply saddened to hear your voice had been silenced, at least here on Earth. However, your spirit will continue to fly uncaged in the many books and poems you wrote as well as the many lives you touched.

Thank you Marguerite Ann Johnson for showing me how to be me and being a part of my life even though we never met face to face. You will be missed. But, I believe Jesus welcomed you with arms wide open and God pulled out a seat so both of you could chat and laugh.

Prayers for the ones who remain,
And praise for you…Maya Angelou.

Maya Angelou

Blessings,
Annie

 

 

Leave a Reply

