Tourist in Funky Town

Yesterday, in the middle of the day, I started feeling off center. Then, as the work day closed, I began feeling worse and worse, sick to my stomach as a matter of fact. All I could concentrate on was getting home. Those red ruby slippers sure would have come in handy. But alas, Dorothy is not my name and I live with cats, not a dog. Anyway, thinking I was overly tired, I climbed in bed, turning off the lights at 8 p.m.

This morning, my stomach ache had disappeared. However, my mood was now making a detour in funky town. I knew I could not continue the day with an attitude as I am the first face people encounter when they enter the office. Yet, I desperately wanted to call in sick, crawl back in bed, throw the covers over my head and sleep till noon. But having a bad attitude, I felt, was not a good enough excuse for taking a day off from work. As I drove in, I thought up ways to move through the funk to get back to Laughterville.

Here are the things I did:

  1. I reminded myself what day it is. My most favorite day. FRIDAY!!! That sort of helped, as I knew if the attitude grew, I would have two days to tame it.
  2. I thought long and hard why I was feeling so funky. For one, I am PMSing. Yes, even at 50+ years of age, that chapter of my life has not ended yet. Two, the man in my body was definitely doing a number pausing. (Get it…men o pause) Three, earlier in the week, I found out how much I owe in taxes. Surprisingly, I am getting a bit back from the government. I still owe the state but not as much as I stressed over and about. As a result, my emotions, in the last couple of weeks, have been riding the roller coaster of angst and worry.
  3. I found a mindless task to complete at work, deciding to throw aside guilt for not asking my manager for something a bit more thought provoking. Luckily, the day was slow, quiet and not many visitors came by, which is just what I needed.
  4. I indulged myself in reading my book, before work and during lunch. It actually took my mind off my funk as my imagination took over. In fact, I finished the book so I can move on to the next one in the series. And no, it is not an inspirational one. It is what the series Dexter was based off of. I have seen some episodes. However, I find the book a bit more interesting as there are no commercials, the author writes in graphic detail and I find Dexter’s snarky personality is portrayed better.
  5. I ‘acted’ like my normal self, putting a smile on my face, greeting guests in a friendly manner, laughing with employees. Regardless, I wasn’t my usual perky talkative self. I just couldn’t fake it that much.
  6. I flipped my radio stations between talk radio and inspiring music. The talk was mostly jibber jabber. The music seemed to help.
  7. When I got home, I literally RAN inside my door, almost kissing the ground, I was so happy!
  8. I played with Monty, my boy cat and smooched Maddie, my girl cat, on both cheeks. That helped ALOT!!!
  9. I watched a bit of Wayne Dyer’s I Can See Clearly Now, a program I dvred last week.
  10. I wrote about my funk. Yes, it is still there. Although not as strong as earlier today. And it feels good to whine and complain.

So, I spent my day in funky town. I did not like visiting and am slowly making my way out. Thank goodness, I am only a tourist, not a permanent resident!!! Tomorrow, I will be long gone, grooving and moving into Laughterville, being my squeezable Charmin self again. Bet you NEVER thought I would compare myself to toilet paper HA!! HA!!! Oh, I can feel her returning already!!!

Hoping when you visit funky town, you decide not to stay.

Blessings always and all ways,
Till Next We Meet Again,
Annie

 

3 thoughts on “Tourist in Funky Town

  1. I love how you got through a tough day with flying colors or at least with colors. 🙂

    I think you made the right decision by going to work even though you didn’t feel like it. That way you didn’t add guilt to your feelings. I find as you did that pretending I’m feeling good works to my advantage.

    Also, I want to add that the Dammit Daily website you informed me of saved me yesterday. I’m keeping my head above water even though I received a nasty response to some chatter I posted during a Words With Friends game. We’re in Florida and I mentioned to the person I was playing (my gay cousin’s friend) that it was raining, darn it, but we were enjoying ourselves anyway OF COURSE. The response I got was: suffer bitch!!!

    I needed to focus on letting that slap in the face slide off me. I can’t say I don’t think about it but I’ve put it in its place without saying a word.

    Thanks for listening to me.

    1. Isn’t that a great site? Dammit!!! LOL!! As for the person who made the comment, sounds like they are jealous in a BIG WAY!!! But that is NOT your problem and so glad you were able to brush it off and without a comment. YAHOO!!!! Glad you are enjoying your vacation. Hope you found some good brews to drink as well!!!

Leave a Reply

