If I Told You

If I told you I was Straight, what would you think of me?
If I told you I was Gay, how would you react?

If I told you I was normal, what would you think of me?
If I told you I was handicapped, how would you react?

If I told you I killed someone in self defense, what would you think of me?
If I told you I was a murderer, how would you react?

If I told you I refused pregnancy tests to determine deformities in my child,
what would you think of me?
If I told you I had an abortion, how would you react?

If I told you I was an Christian, what would you think of me?
If I told you I was an Atheist, how would you react?

If I told you I was addicted to sex, what would you think of me?
If I told you I was a prostitute, how would you react?

If I told you I spanked my children, what would you think of me?
If I told you I was a child abuser, how would you react?

If I told you I did not want to live anymore, what would you think of me?
If I told you I assisted with a suicide, how would you react?

If I told you I had cancer, what would you think of me?
If I told you I had AIDS, how would you react?

If I told you I was Jewish, what would you think of me?
If I told you I was Muslim, how would you react?

If I told you I was loaded with money and lived in a mansion, what would you think of me?
If I told you I was homeless, how would you react?

If I told you I was African American, what you think of me?
If I told you I was Mexican, how would you react?

If I told you I owned my own company, what would you think of me?
If I told you I worked three jobs, how would you react?

If I told you I graduated from college, what would you think of me?
If I told you I never finished high school, how would you react?

If I told you…
Would you want to get to know me?
Would you still follow?
Would you flinch or ignore or look down upon?
Would you accept or make fun?
Would you think twice?

or

Would you listen?
Would you attempt to understand?
Would you treat me like you would like to be treated?
Would you sympathize?
Would you put aside your preconceived notions, prejudices and biases?
Would you support me despite other’s opinions?
Would you love?

If I told you…
What would you think?
How would you react?

Praying for Change in a Broken World
Full of Splintered Hearts,
Annie

One thought on “If I Told You

  1. Those are hard questions, Annie. I wish I could say that I would positively love all those mentioned here. I would pray for the ability not to judge and to love as I want to be loved.

Leave a Reply

