Movie Review

Last night, I had the chance to watch “He’s Just Not That Into You.” This movie features an all star cast including Drew Barrymore, Bradley Cooper, Jennifer Aniston, Ben Affleck and more. It is based on the novel, by the same name, by Greg Behrendt and Liz Tuccillo. Actually, Greg has a bit part as the pastor in the wedding scene. But don’t blink, or else you will miss him!

Anyway, excellent movie. The most heartbreaking part was when one of the characters, admits to his wife, he has cheated, in the middle of Home Depot. She decides to stay with him, later discovering he is also lying about smoking. I cried as I watched her go through her husband’s closet, snatch his clothes and whip them down the stairs all the while screaming. Then she grabs a mirror off the wall, hurling it to the floor. It shatters into pieces. She breathes deeply, gets a broom and begins sweeping up the mess of shattered glass. But it is not just the pieces of the mirror she is cleaning…

After my house sold, there were many large pieces of furniture, in the basement, of which I had no idea how to get out of the house nor did I want them. My oldest son was helping me. We tried unscrewing nuts and bolts, but to no avail. So I trotted up the stairs, into the garage and found a 2 foot long, heavy duty, solid metal pipe wrench. The first time I picked it up, I damn near dropped it!! Nevertheless, my spirit was on fire, raging for the mission, below. Each step I took back down the stairs, it seemed the wrench got lighter and lighter.

I walked up to the first piece of furniture, a desk made from a kit, extending from the floor to the ceiling, with shelves, a writing space, and cubby holes. I picked up the wrench and swung, hitting the desk so hard it began to fall apart. Again and again I swung, harder each time. Pieces of wood flew. Shelves disintegrated. The desk quickly became like the mirror, shattered into pieces. And with each swing, I let out a scream! All the while, I could feel my son. He was quietly standing, off the side, WAY off to the side, watching me. I figured he thought I had finally gone totally bonkers and actually flew the coop. After my final swing, I looked at him, handed him the wrench and said, “It’s your turn now.”

Needless to say, we both ended up getting out a lot of aggression, anger, and hurt that night. The wrench was passed between us, like a torch. When all the furniture had been destroyed, we looked at each other, both of us out of breath, then we began laughing.

“Wasn’t if fun?” “Oh my God, MOM!!! That was GREAT!!!”

Neither one of us complained at the time it took to clean up the mess of broken springs, lopsided couch gouged in half, screws and nuts and nails flung all over and shards of wood. Just like the woman, in the movie, we had reached a breaking point, and a place we did not wish to return too.

At the end of the movie, the woman ends up buying a new mirror. A few months after I moved into my apartment, I found furniture, totally different from what was in my house, yet so me. The movie ends with the following quote..

“Girls are taught a lot of stuff growing up. If a guy punches you he likes you. Never try to trim your own bangs and someday you will meet a wonderful guy and get your very own happy ending. Every movie we see, Every story we’re told implores us to wait for it, the third act twist, the unexpected declaration of love, the exception to the rule. But sometimes we’re so focused on finding our happy ending we don’t learn how to read the signs. How to tell from the ones who want us and the ones who don’t, the ones who will stay and the ones who will leave. And maybe a happy ending doesn’t include a guy, maybe… it’s you, on your own, picking up the pieces and starting over, freeing yourself up for something better in the future. Maybe the happy ending is… just… moving on. Or maybe the happy ending is this, knowing after all the unreturned phone calls, broken-hearts, through the blunders and misread signals, through all the pain and embarrassment you never gave up hope.”


For me, the happy ending began the day I choose to move on. I have picked up the pieces, learned to wholeheartedly love myself, found a new job, and truly love life as it is. I do harbor hope for a relationship in the future, but if I am a single lady, the rest of my days, so be it.

Anyway, if you haven’t, see this movie. It was funny, insightful, sad and for some, endings were happy.

Till Next Time,
Blessings,
Annie

One thought on “Movie Review

  1. I’m so glad you and your son got to express your frustrations, anger, etc. and at the same time, reduced the size of the furniture you wanted to get read of!! A win, win situation. Sharing the experience is something neither of you will ever forget and will probably make you both smile from ear to ear when you recall that day.

    That movie sounds like a good one.

Leave a Reply

