Kimberly’s Kalmed Kupcake Kraving

cupcake

The other night I got a craving. A terrible craving. A craving that spoke to me…’GET SOME CUPCAKES!!’ I tried ignoring it. It just screamed louder. I tried persuading it. It just pouted. I tried reasoning with it. It stomped its feet. I tried yelling at it. It just covered its ears. So, I gave in.

In my area, there are several bakeries specializing in cupcakes. One is a franchise that has seventeen locations and is rapidly growing. They call their cupcakes ‘delectable.’ However, I am probably the only one in the area who finds these ‘treats’ not so delectable or delicious. (I remember I am not the only one, my sister doesn’t like them either.) The ones I purchased tasted like they had been sitting on the shelf for a long time. The cake was extremely dry, almost cardboardy, with barely a hint of flavor. The frosting was not creamy at all. Also, the price was high considering the quality. I bought four cupcakes for my son’s birthday. But after eating one, I ended up throwing the rest out. I should have returned them but at that time the location I bought them at was quite a distance, not worth the gas and not worth the hassle.

Since then, I have been seeking cupcakes with a ‘homemade’  freshly baked flavor and ones that are reasonably priced. One bakery I found that fits this bill is Buttercream Bake Shoppe in Wixom. I bought a lemon cupcake topped with a mound of buttercream frosting and filled with a lemon custard. OMG!!!! It was soooooooooooo………………………..good, I went back and bought the orange creamsicle cupcake. Yep, it tasted just like the ice cream treat minus the dairy.

But, on the weekday, this bakery closes at 5 p.m. So I had to find an alternative. I needed a couple of other groceries so I decided to check out the bakery at Kroger. I have had their cakes which are quite yummy!!! I moseyed around the bakery, taking my time to find a cupcake to make my craving happy. I noticed a package of four cupcakes on sale. These were baked by Kimberly’s Bakeshoppe, featuring a lemon ice flavor, filled with a tangy lemon crème and topped with a ‘heavenly soft lemon frosting’-(that is the description off the package.) All the while, my craving is jumping up and down shouting, ‘GET THEM! GET THEM! GET THEM!’ I did. And, I was not disappointed in the satisfaction that was bestowed upon my craving.

The picture at the beginning of this post is the cupcake I bought and devoured. They were just as good as the ones from the Buttercream Bake Shoppe. However, I got four cupcakes for the price I would have paid for two. And if my craving ever acts up again, I won’t have to wait for the bakery to be open. They were so good, I ended up eating two in a row!!! Matter of fact, I just ate one so let me try to describe exactly what I mean.

The frosting is so buttery and creamy and ‘heavenly’, my finger glides easily through the mound topping each cake. As the frosting is deposited in my mouth, it melts, making my taste buds cry for more. The cake is moist and fluffy, not too richly flavored with lemon, yet just enough sweetness to tame a craving and a sweet tooth. The lemon crème filling is wonderful!!! It bursts with just enough tang, to make your tongue dance for joy! Oh my…it is so delicious! And just think lemon ice is not the only flavor these treats come in. They also have carrot nut, chocolate caramel, gingerbread house, pumpkin spice, red velvet, strawberry crème, triple chocolate and vanilla bean. Is your craving yelling at you yet?

If you ever come across these goodies, I encourage you to buy a package. It is well worth every penny. If you do try them out, let me know what you think.

Here’s to Kravings, Kupcakes and Kimberly’s,
As Martha Stewart says, “It’s a good thing.”

Blessings,
Annie

2 thoughts on “Kimberly’s Kalmed Kupcake Kraving

Leave a Reply

