Comfort of Cooking

When I was married, I did not find cooking as enjoyable as I do now. I was either busy running after kids or working 9-5 and did not feel like coming home, figuring out the answer to the million dollar question-What’s for dinner?-cleaning up the kitchen, helping with homework…blah, blah, blah, blah….you get my point. Now that I am single, I am budgeting, not so busy, usually by self even though my boys still live with me, and find the solace of cooking and the comfort of a home made meal soothing. My favorite thing is to grab some meat, steak or chicken or even fish, open the cupboards, browse the spices, rices, noodles, etc I have and think up something. Here is one I thought up that is healthy, easy and can be made in a wok or frying pan. It can also be adjusted to fit as many as needed. I call it Steak n’ Pots.

Steak n’ Pots

Ingredients:
1-2 lbs (depending on # of people) sirloin steak (I prefer sirloin as less fatty and much more tender.)
1 small bag mini potatoes, white or red or 1 small bag fingerling potatoes
Pinch of sea salt
1 bag baby leaf spinach, washed
Fresh sliced mushrooms
Low salt teriyaki marinade
Splash of red wine
Olive oil

Cut the potatoes into fourths. Heat 1-2 T oil in a wok/frying pan on high. Once oil is hot, carefully add potatoes as the oil may do some spittin at ya! Turn heat down to medium high. Every once in a while turn the potatoes so they crisp up on all sides. Once browned, remove from pan. Sprinkle a dash of sea salt on top and mix well. Return pan to high heat and add 1 T oil. Throw in steak chunks. Cook till almost medium well, add potatoes back in and spinach. Splash just enough teriyaki sauce and red wine on mixture to give it a nice zing! Stir well, cooking just till spinach wilts. Add mushrooms and cook till heated through. Pile it in a bowl and enjoy!!!

Simple, easy, a bit of time but well worth it!! You can omit the wine, but it adds a really good flavor. And for those living healthy, a perfect meal 🙂

Blessings,
Annie

2 thoughts on “Comfort of Cooking

  1. Sounds so good and nutritious too. I bet it is nice cooking for yourself; you can have exactly what YOU want!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

