I Apologize Lady G

Dear Lady Gaga,
I would like to apologize. I first became aware of you while watching the 2011 Grammy Awards. You were arriving in an egg carried by four hunky men. Instead of attempting to understand why you were hidden in an egg, I quickly judged you, thinking ‘How ridiculous is that?!?!’, and switched to another channel. From then on, whenever I ‘saw’ you televised or heard you sing, I was quick to draw conclusions, based on my perceptions, about who you were. And boy did I criticize, every piece of clothing you wore, every song you sang, every thing about you!!! I was like the ones who bullied you as a kid. Despite my adversity, my youngest son kept up a tirade of support for you. He reminded me what an awesome artist you were. He told me I just did not understand what you were trying to do. You see, I could not get past your appearance. I was seeing the outfits, but not you. Shame on me. Despite my dislike of you, my son kept at it.

It wasn’t until your 2011 Thanksgiving Special on ABC that I ‘saw’ underneath the garments. And I heard my son. That night, I settled in, dreading to watch because at that point I was not willing to open up my heart and let you in. Regardless, you ended up melting the disdain I held for you. It was then I realized not only were you a fantastic singer, and a creative soul but also a person who is advocating for those of us that have experienced bullying and unacceptance because we are different. You see, as a child, I was so shy teachers made comments on my report card, “needs to speak up more.” I was also ‘teased’ a lot by other kids. Back in the 70′s there were bullies but no one had taken action against them. Gradually as the years went by a transformation began taking place. When I turned 40, I finally grew into my skin, learning to love me for me, embracing my uniqueness and using my voice when another tried to stomp me down. What I have learned and seen is unfortunately, if a child who bullies is not taught positive ways to interact with others, the bullying methods will continue as an adult. In my professional career, I have worked for men and women who never gave a second thought to putting people down, screaming to get their way and spreading hostility where ever they went. I will never forget one boss yelling at someone, in front of that person’s office, where everyone could hear, “WHAT ARE WE STUPID!?!?!” I ended up leaving that company. Unfortunately, I understand this boss has not been stopped in his tracks resulting in more frequent tirades. Now, you may ask, why did I not report him to Human Resources or tell someone about his behavior? Due to the small size of the company, there was no HR department, no number to make an anonymous complaint and he was the owner. When I quit, I thankfully found a company with an active HR department, an anonymous tip line and several people I can go to if an incident like that ever occurs where I am at now.

So, back to you. As I watched your program, I finally got the message. For almost every song, you sang, tears came to my eyes. I sobbed when you sang Hair. It was so powerful, enveloping me with all the emotions I experienced as a child. It just blew me away!

Once again, I apologize to you. You are a rare gem who is shining light in many people’s lives. And I thank you for not only being your funky true self but also for sharing those tragic moments you experienced. I just wish there were more artists doing the work you are. As a result, there would be more people, of all ages, deciding to live life in their way instead of ending it because of ridicule, humiliation, shame and unacceptance of themselves.

As a tribute to you, I have added this video. I hope it will help someone else. Thank you Lady G. Here is to Hair.

Hair Lyrics
Whenever I’m dressed cool
My parents put up a fight
And if I’m a hot shot Mom will cut my hair at night
And in the morning I’m short of my identity
I scream Mom and Dad
Why can’t I be who I wanna be?
To be
I just wanna be myself
And I want you to love me for who I am
I just wanna be myself
And I want you to know, I am my hair
[Chorus:] I’ve had enough, this is my prayer
That I’ll die livin’ just as free as my hair
I’ve had enough, this is my prayer
That I’ll die livin’ just as free as my hair I’ve had enough,
I’m not a freak I just keep fightin’ to stay cool on the streets
I’ve had enough, enough, enough
And this is my prayer,
I swear I’m as free as my hair
I’m a free as my hair
I am my hair I am my hair
[x2:] Free as my hair, hair, hair
Sometimes I have some raccoons
Or red highlights
Just because I want my friends
To think I’m dynamite
And on Friday rock city High school dance I got my bangs to hide
That I don’t stand a chance, a chance
I just wanna be myself
And I want you to love me for who I am
I just wanna be myself
And I want you to know, I am my hair
[Chorus]
[x2:] Free as my hair, hair, hair
I just want to be free, I just want to be me
And I want lots of friends that invite me to their parties
Don’t wanna change, and I don’t wanna be ashamed
I’m the spirit of my hair, it’s all the glory that I bare
I am my hair, I’m my hair
I am my hair, I’m hair I am my hair,
I’m hair I am my hair, I’m hair
It’s all the glory that I bare
I am my hair, I am my hair I am a hair, yeah
It’s all the glory that I bare I am my hair, I am my hair I’m my hair, yeah, yeah
(All the glory that I bare) I’m my hair, yeah, yeah
(All the glory that I bare) I’m my hair, yeah, yeah
(All the glory that I bare) My hair, yeah, yeah, yeah
[Chorus]
I’m as free as my hair
I’m as free as my hair I am my hair,
I am my hair Ooh
I’m my hair,
I’m my hair

Blessings that You are as Free as Your Hair…
Annie

P.S. Thanks to Lucy for the Versatile Blog Award. Come on back tomorrow to hear more :)

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “I Apologize Lady G

  1. I admire you for admitting your mistake in judgement re: Lady Gaga. That can be hard to do.

Leave a Reply

